The Birds Across the Street Had Better Shush RIGHT NOW.

Deep announcer voice: In other news, Lissa has decided to file a law suit against the birds that live across the street. Though she doesn’t actually have any idea where exactly they are located, she has great faith that someone will find them, and then deal with them the way they ought to be dealt with.

Okay, so that’s a little meladramatic. So what? These birds are very vocal. I am not a huge fan of extroardinarly loud birds who decide to interupt my peaceful afternoons.

Am I just complaining to you? Well, I mean, maybe. But bear with me, I do have a deep, philosophical point to make. Kinda.

As I was getting allllll worked up about these incredibly annoying birds, who have been bothering me the last several days, and I relized, why on earth waste my time getting so upset about some stupid ol’ birds?

I do this all the time. I get so upset. I love to complain. (I know y’all who know me personally are nodding your head and are like yep, that’s Lis.) It’s literally apart of me. And it is so annoying to me to be complaining all the time. But it’s so easy. It’s so simple to just open my mouth and fuss.

Do you experience this ever?

I know that that is my way of venting. I really do enjoy complaining, in the moment. Ya know, until afterwards when I’ve annoyed someone or even hurt feelings. Or I just get fed up with myself.

Okay, Lissa, this is great. You know you complain a lot, so just stop. Ta da!

Yeah, well it’s not that simple. At all. When something is ingrained in your personality and has been a habit you’ve been cultivating for the last five years or so.

For y’all who know me personally and are reading this, just know that I am aware of this habit. It’s just possibly the toughest one for me to break. So please, as I try to have patience with you, I humbly ask that you have patience for me. Also, don’t expect a sudden 180 or anything, ’cause I’m still me. (Also probably best not to mention this post in depth to me in person.) (Thanks.)

So what shall I do about it? That’s a great question. Try. Try harder. Bite my tongue.

Sometimes we complain about the cross we bear, not knowing what an honor it is to be carrying anything for our Messiah.

Here are some great verses:

In everything give thanks, for this is the will of God for you. ~ 1 Thessalonians 5:18

In EVERYTHING. This is God’s will. Wow.

Do all things without complaining and fighting so that you may become blameless and pure children of God. Philippians 2:14-15

To be blameless and pure, to be children of God, we have to cut out all our complaints and fighting, no matter if it seems harmless and even enjoyable at the time.

Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear. ~Ephesians 4:29

No corrupting talk. Only what builds others up. So they can have grace. You might know a few people who are beautiful examples of this verse, and those are the people you love to be around. Because they aren’t focusing on their selves or comparing themselves to you. They are just being kind.

Do not grumble against one another, brothers, so that you may not be judged; behold, the Judge is standing at the door. ~James 5:9

When we complain about someone, we are being judged. If we speak well, we will not be condemned. But God is always weighing our actions.

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. ~James 1:2-4

No matter how hard it is to be cheerful, it is important. When we are tested, and we prove ourselves worthy, we become steadfast which leads to perfection, completion, and non-lackingness (which is totally a word, by the way.)

I don’t know if this is helpful to you at all. But I think it will be for me.

Basically this is the overview; DO NOT COMPLAIN. If only it were that easy though.

In closing, I leave you with one last verse.

I can do all things through Messiah who strengthens me. ~ Philippians 4:13

No matter how hard it seems to just keep your mouth shut or look on the bright side, with our Messiah, it is truly possible.

 

5 thoughts on “The Birds Across the Street Had Better Shush RIGHT NOW.

      1. Absolutely! Last week I was reading a couple of books about missionaries in Africa (A Dream So Big, and then the one–I forgot what it’s called, but it’s by Kent Brantly and it’s about the Ebola epidemic in Liberia) and I was really thinking a lot about all the poverty in the world. I found a website that you can go to and enter your family’s income and see where you rank in relation to the rest of the world; so I did so, and even though we are not at all “rich” by American standards, we were in the very top percentage of rich people in the world. Which blew my mind! So God has definitely been using everything I have been reading about poverty to convict me. I’m trying to be grateful I have my own computer instead of complaining about slow Wi-fi, and I’m trying to get out of the habit of opening our refrigerator and saying “We have NO food” when it’s actually over half full!

        Like

      2. I will have to check out those books! Oh, what is that website? Yes, that’s tue! Wow, “I’m trying to be grateful I have my own computer instead of complaining about slow Wi-fi, and I’m trying to get out of the habit of opening our refrigerator and saying “We have NO food” when it’s actually over half full!” That has real meaning to me, that’s things I complain about daily! Thanks so much for sharing!

        Like

Leave a Reply

