Thanksgiving Eve (just a day away!)

A History of Thanksgiving and Its Traditions.  Happy Thanksgiving everyone!! I am so thankful that God has blessed me with amazing friends and family. What are you thankful for on this beautiful Thanksgiving?:
My absolute favorite Thanksgiving art, by Norman Rockwell.

Oh my goodness! Oh my goodness! Thanksgiving is so soon! Two more days and I’ll be surrounded by family and eating more carbs then I’ve eaten in months.

Tomorrow we’ll be enjoying busily scurrying around the kitchen doing the last minute preparation, the smell of spices and sweets will be smelling up the house, and laying out even more decorations and tables and chairs. I’ll be making desserts, pastries, (including peppermint bark, apple fritter monkey bread, and peanut butter pudding cake stuff!) and helping mom with whatever else she needs. Notes of music, crooners like Bing Crosby and Dean Martin will be floating around and we’ll sing happily off-key with it. Eventually, when we’re tired of that, we’ll play the soundtrack to Pride and Prejudice and Cinderella, I’ll probably dance around a little.

I love Thanksgiving Eve so much, almost more than Thanksgiving Day itself! There’s something wonderful about it. It’s so wonderful.

Then later tomorrow evening my sister and mom and I will gather around, just like we have every year, and read An Old Fashioned Thanksgiving by Louisa May Alcott. The story never gets old, and the illustrations are always so lovely!

img_20161122_145202_kindlephoto-106912608
This is an illustration from the book, but it’s very fuzzy because the camera I used is rotten, but the illustrations really are the best!

Then we’ll get pizza, as none of us will feel like cooking anymore! And when it’s finished we’ll watch our traditional movie, Planes, Trains, and Automobiles (a clean version, since it has more than a little ‘iffy’ stuff).

Then by the time we finish everyone will probably be exhausted, but once we’ve gone to bed I’ll actually be listening to A Thanksgiving Carol, and Adventures in Odyssey episode that used to be a tradition (you can listen to it here, for free the day after Thanksgiving if you’re interested, it’s very silly, but fun), but for the last couple years I’ve been the only to keep it up.

Psalm 107:1,8-9 Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; his love endures forever. Let them give thanks to the Lord for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for mankind, for he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things.

Psalm 31:19-20 How abundant are the good things that you have stored up for those who fear you, that you bestow in the sight of all, on those who take refuge in you. In the shelter of your presence you hide them from all human intrigues;

 Jeremiah 30:19 From them will come songs of thanksgiving and the sound of rejoicing. I will add to their numbers, and they will not be decreased; I will bring them honor, and they will not be disdained.

Ephesians 1:15-16  For this reason, ever since I heard about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all God’s people, I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers.

Thanksgiving Bible Verses - Jill Fromer / Getty Images

I’m so excited for this wonderful day, and the day that comes after it! I’m, shall we say, thankful? So, this is me, wishing you all a very Happy Thanksgiving, full of family, delicious food, and genuine, heart-felt joy and gratitude.

“What if today, we were just thankful for everything?”

Happy Thanksgiving Card:

Heading out for a Autumn stroll with my hubby and enjoying this beautiful weather that we are having! Happy Thursday everyone!

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Eve (just a day away!)

Leave a Reply

